The sixth generation of the pony car is coming to an end and a special edition to tribute it will be launch. Everything with this generation was special, so why not its farewell?

Chevrolet1969 Chevrolet Camaro



A bit of history

The Chevrolet Camaro was introduced in 1967 and since then it has maintained its focus on the driver. This car was classified as a pony car because it was smaller and refined than a muscle car and fitted perfectly in this category due to its characteristics of affordability, style, and rear wheel drive.

Evolution on this car is more than evident not just in its external design but its performance. Let’s see some differences:

First generation – (1966 - 1969) It was introduced as a 1967 model in September 1966 in two models, Camaro Rally Sport (RS) and Camaro Super Sport (SS). A two-door coupé or convertible was based on the GM F-body platform, two-seats, and rear wheel-drive. The SS was equipped with a V8 engine 5.7 L or 396 L. This model was famous in the Trans-Am and NHRA racings.

Second generation – (1970 – 1981) This generation was introduced in 1970 and based on the F-body platform. This one was designed with several changes and became somewhat larger and wider. The Z28 model produced 360 hp and included an air induction hood scoop with an intake door that opened under full throttle.

Third generation – (1982 – 1992) It was produced in 1981. Introduced a totally new architecture being the first model to offer fuel injection, Turbo-hydramatic 700R4 four speed automatic transmission, five-speed manual transmission, wheels of 14 to 16 in, a standard OHV 4-cylinder engine, and a hatchback body. This was the Pace Car on the Indy 500. In 1982 it was named “Car of the Year” by Motor Trend.





Fourth generation – (1993 – 2002) It debuted in 1993 and was based on an updated F-body platform. Its performance was improved with a higher-powered chassis and engines than the previous generation. Its exterior was more dramatic which included a different windshield giving it a sleeker profile. Still a two door and two seats car with an optional T-top roof or convertible. 

Fifth generation – (2010 – 2015) This time Chevrolet opted for a more robust design, which managed to surpass its main competitor for 5 years, selling more than 500,000 units. This car was available in five different trim levels: LS, 1LT, 2LT, 1SS, and 2SS. It also included features as ESP equipment, air bags, manual and automatic transmission, fully independent four-wheel suspension system, four-wheel disk brakes, electronic stability/traction control system, and competitive/sports modes. It also gave rise to a new 1LE, and the Z/28 and ZL1 models.

Sixth generation – (2016 – 2023?) The sixth gen brought the highest levels of performance, technology, and refinement in its history, with a lighter and stronger architecture, which lead it to win again the Motor Trend Car of the Year award in 2016. This version was built in the GM Alpha platform and sales started with the LT and SS models. It presented three engine versions: a 2.0 L turbo-charged inline-four producing 275 hp, a new 3.6 L V6 making 335 hp, and a 6.2 L LT1 V8 with 455 hp. And in the tech era, this Camaro came equipped with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto Capability features.

Every generation tried to keep something from the previous one having in mind that it must keep its soul and focus on drivers and market new needs.



Camaro2024 Collector’s Edition



The Collector’s Limited Edition

The last 2024 model of the sixth generation Camaro will be a limited edition created to honor and celebrate the car’s legacy and style which a lot of us will remember due to bumblebee, the famous autobot of the Transformers saga. The shape of its body, its engine roar, and its lines all across the car are unforgettable.

The collector’s limited edition was inspired by the first-generation and its first code name “Panther”. Details about this car were released last summer and it was confirmed that it kept the performance the sixth generation is and will be remember; performance that made it win more than 60 NASCAR Cups since 2018.”

For decades, Camaro loyalists have known the Panther code-name lurk in the shadows of our history,” said Rich Scheer, Chevrolet Design Director. And continue saying “From the colors and tones selected, to panther representations used across the vehicle, the Collector’s Edition officially recognizes the significance of the code-name and the sixth-generation car in Camaro cannon.

Available on all trims (information taken from


LT/LT1/SS includes:

  • Panther Black Metallic Tintcoat with Black center stripe
  • Camaro Collector Edition fender badge
  • 20-inch 5-split-spoke forged-aluminum wheels, Black or polished
  • ZL1 design rear spoiler (Coupe only) and front splitter


ZL1 includes:

  • Panther Black Matte exterior color with Black Metallic center stripe
  • Camaro Collector Edition fender badge
  • 20-inch Dark Graphite premium-painted forged-aluminum wheels
  • Visible carbon-fiber weave rear spoiler (Coupe only)
  • Front splitter


Definitely, this is my car! People who know me laugh every time I see one because I behave as a little child. I find nothing to criticize this car.

A car that is older than me and we can find everywhere in the world deserves this kind of bye-bye. Gen seven has very high standard to surpass.

Remember, with your feet on earth while reaching your dreams!